Mary Sladek Mary Sladek

National Academy of Science Convening of the Commission on Evidence-Based Policymaking

Posted on July 15, 2016 - 5:15 PM CDT

7/22/2016 (Fri) - 8:33 AM to 6:00 PM CDT

Tags: NASA Headquarters | SMD E/PO Community | Conference / Meeting | Assessment / Evaluation | Best Practices / Lessons Learned | Budgets | Reporting (Data Call / OEPM) | Astrophysics | Earth Science | Heliophysics | Planetary Science

Event information

Public Notice

July 15, 2016                                                                                                      Contact:

WASHINGTON – The Commission on Evidence-Based Policymaking will convene its first public meeting on July 22 at 8:30 a.m. EDT. The meeting is open to the public, and will be conducted at the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Building, Room NAS-120 at 2101 Constitution Ave., N.W., Washington, D.C.

The Commission was established under the bipartisan Evidence-Based Policymaking Commission Act of 2016 (P.L. 114-140), jointly sponsored by Speaker Paul Ryan (R-WI) and Senator Patty Murray (D-WA), and signed by President Barack Obama on March 30, 2016. Under the law, the Commission is charged with examining aspects of how to increase the availability and use of data in order to build evidence about government programs, while protecting privacy and confidentiality. Over the next 15 months, the Commission will develop a series of findings and recommendations for the President and the Congress. The Commission is chaired by Katharine G. Abraham and co-chaired by Ron Haskins.

The Commission membership includes 15 appointees, nominated by the President, the Speaker of the House, the House Minority Leader, the Senate Majority Leader, and the Senate Minority Leader. Currently appointed commissioners include:

• Chair: Katharine G. Abraham, University of Maryland

• Co-Chair: Ron Haskins, Brookings Institution

• Sherry Glied, New York University

• Robert Groves, Georgetown University

• Robert Hahn, University of Oxford

• Hilary Hoynes, University of California, Berkeley

• Jeffrey Liebman, Harvard University

• Bruce Meyer, University of Chicago • Paul Ohm, Georgetown University

• Allison B. Orris, Office of Management and Budget, Executive Office of the President

• Latanya Sweeney, Harvard University

• Kim Wallin, D.K. Wallin, Ltd.

Three commissioners await formal appointment.

 During the public meeting, the Commissioners will receive input from Congressional staff and Executive Branch officials, and will be briefed on several recent Federal evidence building activities. No time will be allocated in this meeting to receive public statements. However, the public may submit written statements for Commission’s review to

Members of the public who plan to attend the Commission’s July 22 meeting in-person or by phone must RSVP at by noon on Thursday, July 21.

More at