Cassie Soeffing Cassie Soeffing

Classroom Assessment Strategies for NGSS Earth and Space Sciences

Posted on February 2, 2016 - 8:59 AM CST

Tags: General Public | SMD E/PO Community | Educator | Training / Workshop | Community Posts | Earth Science

Dear Colleagues,

 

More than 75% of United States students reside in states and districts which have adopted or adapted the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS). The three-dimensional nature of NGSS student learning requires new classroom assessment strategies to demonstrate that learning. Teacher preparation and professional learning professionals, district and state science supervisors and other science education leaders must be prepared to support a new way of thinking about assessment. Time for questions and discussion will be included. Presenters will describe concrete ways to approach NGSS assessment in the classroom, using Earth and Space Science examples wherever possible.

Confirmed Presenters:

  • William Penuel (University of Colorado)
  • Kathy Comfort (WestEd)

Please come to learn about ways to approach NGSS assessment in the Earth and Space Sciences.

 

Date, time and registration link:

February 11, 2016
1:00 PM Pacific | 2:00 PM Mountain | 3:00 PM Central | 4:00 PM Eastern

Register:

http://nagt.org/nagt/profdev/workshops/ngss_summit/assessment_webinar/index.html

 

The webinar is limited to 50 participants.  Previous webinars have reached the registration cap, so early registration is recommended.

 

Watch your email for announcements of NGSS ESS webinars at the same time on 2nd Thursdays; March 10, April 14 and May 12, 2016.

Please share this with your colleagues and networks

For questions, please contact

Susan Sullivan susan.sullivan@colorado.edu 303-492-5657

Aida Awad

Ed Robeck

And the NGSS ESS Working Group