Cassie Soeffing Cassie Soeffing

The Nature of Science in NGSS - Free NSTA Web Seminar

Posted on July 21, 2014 - 3:25 PM CDT

Date:
7/22/2014 (Tue) - 2:30 PM to 4:00 PM CDT

Tags: Elementary | High School | Middle School | SMD E/PO Community | Webinar

Event information

The Nature of Science in NGSS

 
 

The Next Generation Science Standards call for students to know more than a set of concepts in Life Science, Physical Science, and Earth and Space Science. Students are expected to understand science as a human endeavor and a way of knowing and they should be able to engage in science practices such as planning investigations, developing models, and constructing explanations. The appendices to NGSS include a set of Understandings about the Nature of Science and many performance expectations in the standards include explicit connections to these understandings. Register today!


The web seminar will provide guidance on:

  • concepts that are central to understanding the nature of science
  • how students’ understanding of the nature of science might progress over their K-12 education
  • how the nature of science is connected to practices and crosscutting concepts
  • what instruction about the nature of science might look like in the classroom

Details

Title: The Nature of Science in NGSS
Target audience: Educators of grades K-12
Dates: Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Time: 3:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. CT / 1:30 p.m. MT / 12:30 p.m. PT
Duration: 90 minutes
Note: New users should log in 15 minutes prior to the scheduled start time for an introduction to NSTA web seminars.
Presenter: Norman Lederman

Export