Christine Shupla Christine Shupla

Alcanzando las Estrellas: Spanish webinars about planetary science and careers

Posted on September 21, 2022 - 12:01 PM CDT

Date:
9/29/2022 (Thu) - 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM CDT

Tags: General Public | High School | Higher Education

Event information

The Lunar and Planetary Institute (LPI) is launching a new series of webinars in Spanish, Alcanzando las Estrellas. Each 60-minute webinar will feature a discussion of planetary science topics and careers. Students, educators, and community members are invited to learn more about the exciting field of planetary science!

Tune in on Thursday, September 29 to hear from Betzaida (Beth) Aponte Hernandez. Beth is a researcher at LPI that works with radar data collected at the Arecibo Observatory. This data is used to confirm detection, track, and characterize the properties of Near-Earth Objects (NEO), such as asteroids and comets. This work is part of the crucial role in the nation’s planetary defense initiatives led through NASA. Before working at LPI, Beth worked with the #TeamRadar at the Arecibo Observatory running the observations to collect the data she currently works on. During her presentation, Defendiendo el Planeta, she will introduce the study of radar astronomy and explore the field of planetary defense. Following the presentation, there will be time for questions.

This event will be held virtually on Thursday, September 29 at 6 p.m. EDT / 5 p.m. CDT / 4 p.m. MDT / 3 p.m. PDT. The webinar will be recorded and available online at LPI’s YouTube channel.

Register 

Watch live on YouTube 

Attachments:
Export