Andrew Fraknoi Andrew Fraknoi

Nominations Now Open for ASP Education Awards

Posted on February 1, 2022 - 2:57 PM CST

Tags: Higher Education | Awards / Recognition | Astrophysics | Heliophysics | Planetary Science

The Astronomical Society welcomes nominations for its awards for astronomy education.  The following awards will be given in 2022. 

1) The RICHARD H. EMMONS AWARD for excellence in college astronomy teaching.  This is a lifetime award designed to honor those whose careers have made a difference in the education of undergraduates, particularly the teaching of introductory astronomy for non-science majors.  Previous winners include Ed Prather, Chris Impey, and Charles Tolbert. 

For guidelines and to make a nomination, go to: 

2) The KLUMPKE-ROBERTS AWARD for outstanding contributions to the public understanding and appreciation of astronomy.  This is a lifetime award to honor those who have devoted a significant part of their careers to helping the public see the excitement and value of astronomical research.  Previous winners include Carl Sagan, Heidi Hammel, Dava Sobel, and Jay Pasachoff.   

For guidelines and to make a nomination, go to: 

3) The LAS CUMBRES AWARD for outstanding contributions to outreach in astronomy by an amateur astronomer or group. This award honors a significant body of educational outreach to K-12 students or the interested lay public by those who are not professionally employed as astronomers. 

For guidelines and to make a nomination, go to: 


NOTE: Nominations for each award are welcome from anyone with an interest in astronomy education. Please read and follow the guidelines exactly; incomplete nominations will not be considered.  The deadline for each of the awards has been extended to March 15, 2022.  The general ASP awards page is: