Christine Shupla Christine Shupla

MAVEN webinar: Measuring Methane on Mars

Posted on July 10, 2019 - 10:35 AM CDT

Date:
9/18/2019 (Wed) - 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM CDT

Tags: General Public | Webinar | Community Posts | Heliophysics | Planetary Science

Event information

These webinars are open to the public:

NASA Mars Science: MAVEN Webinars Measuring Methane on Mars

Methane is an important gas in Earth’s atmosphere, released by volcanoes and excreted by many living organisms, including microbes. Several missions at Mars have found evidence for methane in its atmosphere, including a recent short-lived plume of methane measured by the Curiosity rover.  Join us on September 18 as Dr. Paul Mahaffy, Principal Investigator of MAVEN’s Neutral Gas and Ion Mass Spectrometer (NGIMS) and of Curiosity’s Sample Analysis at Mars (SAM) instrument, describes the recent and ongoing studies of methane in the atmosphere of Mars.

Time: Wednesday, September 18, 2019 at 7 pm Eastern, 6 pm Central, 5 pm Mountain, 4 pm Pacific, 3 pm Alaska, and 1 pm Hawaii

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://cuboulder.zoom.us/j/4223033278

Or Telephone:  US: +1 646 558 8656  or +1 669 900 6833

    Meeting ID: 422 303 3278

Previous recorded MAVEN webinars and form to subscribe to future MAVEN announcements are available online at http://bit.ly/MAVENOW.