Jeff Nee Jeff Nee

PD - The MAVEN Mission and Mars' Auroras

Posted on November 16, 2016 - 12:51 PM CST

Date:
11/30/2016 (Wed) - 6:00 PM to 7:00 PM CST

Tags: General Public | Higher Education | Informal | SMD E/PO Community | Educator | Training / Workshop | Webinar | Scientists

Event information

You are invited to join our next Mars MAVEN webinar, on November 30 (1pm HT, 3pm ADT, 4pm PDT, 5pm MDT, 6pm CDT, 7pm EDT):  The MAVEN Mission and Mars' Auroras.


The NASA Mars Atmosphere and Volatile Evolution mission (MAVEN) has been studying Mars’ climate evolution since September 2014, particularly the loss of its atmosphere to space due to interactions with the sun and the solar wind.  Among its discoveries, MAVEN has observed auroras in unexpected locations in the Martian atmosphere.

Join Dr. Nick Schneider from the Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics (LASP) and lead scientist for MAVEN’s Imaging Ultraviolet Spectrograph, to hear about MAVEN’s discoveries and the different types of auroras on Mars. Please invite colleagues to join as well!

Topic: The MAVEN Mission and Mars' Auroras.
Time: Wednesday, November 30 at 7 pm Eastern, 6 pm Central, 5 pm Mountain, 4 pm Pacific, 3 pm Alaska, and 1pm Hawaii

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://cuboulder.zoom.us/j/4223033278

Or iPhone one-tap (US Toll):  +14086380968,4223033278# or +16465588656,4223033278#

Or Telephone:     Dial: +1 408 638 0968 (US Toll) or +1 646 558 8656 (US Toll)

Meeting ID: 422 303 3278

International numbers available: https://cuboulder.zoom.us/zoomconference?m=VQzZU9oGkQRkVNtefPyrLfGhArmSpdnT

 Or an H.323/SIP room system:

    H.323: 162.255.37.11 (US West) or 162.255.36.11 (US East)

    Meeting ID: 422 303 3278

    SIP: 4223033278@zoomcrc.com

 

Participants are able to join before host and will be muted upon entry into the webinar.

Previous recorded MAVEN webinars are available online at http://bit.ly/MAVENOW.